Usher Set to Host 2021 iHeartRadio Music Awards

2021-05-11T17:28:22+00:00May 11th, 2021|

Usher is set to host and perform on the 2021 iHeartRadio Music Awards, which will air Thursday, May 27, live on Fox. Other artists set to perform include The Weeknd with special guest Ariana Grande, Silk Sonic (Bruno Mars & Anderson .Paak), Dan + Shay and Doja Cat.

The show will also include appearances from Taylor Swift, Dua Lipa, Roddy Ricch, Twenty One Pilots, Megan Thee Stallion and more.

This will be Usher’s first time hosting the show, which is in its eighth year. Previous hosts include Jamie Foxx, Jason Derulo, Ryan Seacrest, DJ Khaled & Hailey Baldwin, and T-Pain.

Chris Martin and Lil Nas X will present Elton John with the 2021 iHeartRadio icon award. The segment will include a special tribute performance. Bon Jovi received the icon award in 2018. John received the iHeartRadio Music Award for tour of the year last year for his Farewell Yellow Brick Road tour, which marks his retirement from touring after more than 50 years on the road.

The show will air May 27 live from The Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles at 8-10 p.m. ET live/PT tape-delayed) on Fox. The show also will be heard on iHeartMedia radio stations nationwide and on the iHeartRadio app.

This year’s show marks a comeback for the iHeartRadio Music Awards, which, because of the COVID-19 pandemic, were delayed last year until September, when they aired as a virtual show and only on iHeartRadio stations. This year’s show will be back on Fox, which first aired the show in 2019, back in a major venue and back in the late winter/early spring timeframe in which the first six shows took place.

The 2021 iHeartRadio Music Awards will again give iHeartRadio listeners the opportunity to decide winners in several new and established categories. Fan voting will determine this year’s best fan army, best lyrics, best cover song, best music video, the social star award, favorite music video choreography award and the first-ever TikTok bop of the year award.

Nominations are based on consumption data, including streaming, album sales, song sales and radio airplay. For a full list of categories, visit Social voting began April 7 and will close on May 19 at 11:59 p.m. ET for all categories. Fans can vote on Twitter using the appropriate category and nominee hashtags or by visiting

Executive producers for the iHeartRadio Music Awards are Joel Gallen for Tenth Planet and John Sykes, Tom Poleman and Bart Peters for iHeartMedia.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top