Chris Brown Is Top Winner at 2020 Soul Train Awards: Complete List of Winners

2020-11-30T16:44:31+00:00November 30th, 2020|

Summer Walker’s debut album, ‘Over It,’ won album of the year.

Chris Brown was the top winner at the 2020 Soul Train Awards, which aired on BET on Sunday (Nov. 29). Brown won four of the 12 awards presented, including best R&B/soul male artist. “Go Crazy,” Brown’s collab with Young Thug, won three awards, including song of the year. The smash has cracked the top 10 on the Billboard Hot 100.

H.E.R. won two awards — best R&B/soul female artist and the Ashford & Simpson songwriter’s award for “I Can’t Breathe.” That socially-conscious song is also Grammy-nominated for song of the year.

H.E.R. was this year’s top nominee at the Soul Train Awards, with eight nods. Brown was runner-up, with seven nods.

Summer Walker’s debut album, Over It, which reached No. 2 on the Billboard 200, won album of the year.

Megan Thee Stallion, whose “Savage” reached No. 1 on the Hot 100 (via a remix featuring Beyoncé), won the rhythm & bars award for that smash.

Beyoncé shared the video of the year award for “Brown Skin Girl” with her eight-year old daughter, Blue Ivy, as well as Saint Jhn & Wizkid. That video is also nominated for a Grammy for best music video.

Snoh Aalegra, a Swedish singer/songwriter based in Los Angeles, took best new artist. Aalegra’s 2019 sophomore album, Ugh, Those Feels Again, reached No. 73 on the Billboard 200.

Brandy and Monica, who teamed to record the 1998 classic “The Boy Is Mine,” each received an award. Brandy took the Soul Train certified award. Monica received the Lady of Soul award.

Here’s the complete list of 2020 Soul Train Award winners:

Song of the year: Chris Brown & Young Thug, “Go Crazy”

Album of the year: Summer Walker, Over It

Video of the year: Beyoncé, Blue Ivy, Saint Jhn & Wizkid, “Brown Skin Girl”

Best R&B/soul female artist: H.E.R.

Best R&B/soul male artist: Chris Brown

Best collaboration performance: Chris Brown & Young Thug, “Go Crazy”

Rhythm & bars award: Megan Thee Stallion, “Savage”

Best dance performance: Chris Brown & Young Thug, “Go Crazy”

Best gospel/inspirational award: Kirk Franklin

The Ashford & Simpson songwriter’s award: H.E.R., “I Can’t Breathe”

Lady of Soul award: Monica

Soul Train certified award: Brandy

Best new artist: Snoh Aalegra

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top